Throughout the nursery we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage, or EYFS, which is how the Government, and indeed how we, as early Years professionals, describe the time in a child’s life between birth and the age of 5.


This is a crucial stage in a child’s life as, not only does it help them to get ready for school, but also prepares them for their future learning and successes. We therefore believe that their early years’ experiences should be happy, active, fun and secure, and should support all their development, care and learning needs.

There are 7 areas of learning in the EYFS, split into two categories: EYFS highlights 6 areas of learning as being important to children at this time in their life, which are:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development,
  • Physical development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world,
  • Expressive Arts and Design

It is within this framework that we plan and implement our curriculum for all children here at Juice – albeit with an overarching principle of applying our own knowledge and experience of what works, as well as taking in to consideration what it important to our parents, and VERY importantly, listening to the children’s voices and following their interests, to help them achieve their Next Steps.